Pork Carnitas

Initially I was weirded out by the technique of cooking pork carnitas…so much so that I almost scratched the idea. But I didn’t have 8-12 hours to slow cook the pork all day so I was really forced into the decision. And I’m so glad. This pork was so delicious and so tender and unlike anything I have ever made. You can put it on a sandwich with sauce, over nachos covered in toppings and cheese or in a taco, which is what we did.

I couldn’t imagine how boiling the meat could ever get it to look like this…

Ingredients:

For the Carnitas-

  • 4lb boston pork butt
  • 1/2 white onion
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • Cold Water
  • Organic blueberry juice
  • Zest of one orange
  • Seasoned Rub mixture  (see below)

For the Tacos-

  • Corn taco shells
  • Coleslaw: Cabbage & dressing (I made my own using mayo, sour cream, apple cider vinegar, red wine vinegar, a little sugar, salt, lots of pepper, and celery salt).
  • Avocado cream sauce (put an avocado, sour cream, cilantro, a jalapeno and lime juice in a blender-if it’s too tart, add some agave nectar)

Instructions:

Cut the pork in to 1-2 inch cubes and smother in a rub of your choosing.

I used a rub given to me by my neighbor, whose brother owns a BBQ joint in New York. So I can’t exactly tell you what’s in it but I can guess/give you a suggestion.

A combination of salt, pepper, chili powder, coffee grinds, cumin, paprika, garlic powder, onion powder and maybe some brown sugar. This rub isn’t spicy but very flavorful. Pile it on and don’t be shy. Rub it in to the meat.

Get a heavy pot/pan and put your cut up and seasoned pork in it. Pour water until you reach more than half way up the pork. Then add blueberry juice–I think I used 1/4 cup or so. I also added a splash of orange juice and the zest of one orange.

Add the chopped onion, garlic and salt & pepper. Turn the heat on high and bring it to a boil. Once the liquid is boiling, reduce to a roaring simmer. (You can use a nice beer or another citrus/whatever you like. I saw the blueberry juice in the grocery store and thought it would pair nicely with the pork).

 


After 45 minutes…

Stir it occasionally so all the meat gets cooked under the broth. The goal is to get the liquid to reduce all the way down.

After about 2 hours, I took my pork out and turned the heat up a bit, stirring the sauce until it reduced down further.

Put the pork back in. I used two forks to shred the meat a part a bit so they all weren’t big chunks. This is an optional step. At this point you can turn the heat off if you aren’t ready to proceed. I had an errand to run so I left it off for 45 minutes.

Set your oven to 400 degrees about a half hour before you are ready to eat. Put your pork in the oven, uncovered. This will caramelize the meat and reduce down the rest of the liquid, if any. All the fat left in the pan will fry the meat on the high temperature. When it’s done to your liking, take it out and I removed some of the big fatty pieces. They taste good but I’m not a fan! I left mine in probably 40 minutes.

Here’s your meat! Ready to enjoy however you would like.

Can’t ever go wrong with tacos.

Here is my snap chat video from the day –

 

 

One thought on “Pork Carnitas

  1. Admiring the commitment you put into your
    blog and in depth information you offer. It’s great to come across a blog every once
    in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed information. Great read!

    I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

