Turn Zucchini Into Linguine

I bought a new kitchen toy! And I am REALLY excited about it. For $35 you can make pasta out of vegetables, too! This is a great way to eat pasta guilt-free and perhaps for the Moms out there, a great way to hide vegetables from your kids! And if you are gluten free this is a great substitute for pasta–certainly more nutritious AND tasty !

The machine I bought is made of plastic–this isn’t a high quality piece of kitchen machinery. If I’m being 100% honest, it was not the easiest to clean (according to Kyle). I’m sure you can buy a nice stainless steel one for a few hundred bucks. But this one does the job and the results were perfect. I highly recommend it! I can’t wait to try more vegetables and use all the different blades provided! Of course, more reviews and recipes will come 🙂

20130725-095724.jpg

So for starters, you are going to have to buy one of these. 

It’s really quite simple. I started by making a quick meat sauce. I have plenty of different pasta sauce recipes you could use for this. A pesto would even go really well!  Something to learn from my experience: we are used to making pasta and having the noodles soak up a lot of the liquid in our sauce. The vegetable will not do this, therefore I recommend making a thicker sauce than you might otherwise.

20130725-124114.jpg

Wash your zucchini and cut off the ends.

Insert the zucchini as shown and turn the handle. As you are turning the handle you will have to continually push the handle in so the zucchini stays locked into position. It’s not hard work. I used 4 zucchini, it took me about 10 minutes and it made dinner for two and leftovers for 2.

20130725-095754.jpg

As you are turning the handle, the zucchini will come out the side. I actually used kitchen scissors to cut some of the long strands or you would be twirling your fork for hours!

20130725-095924.jpg

Then I boiled it in salted water. I also added a dash of oil just in case the veggies wanted to stick together. I cooked it for maybe 3 or 4 minutes and then put in a strainer just as you would pasta.

20130725-095930.jpgThen I put the cooked zucchini in the sauce pan and incorporated.

I topped with fresh basil and parmesan cheese, of course!

Try it for yourself and let me know how it goes!!

20130725-095730.jpg

Leave a Reply

