Chicken Fried Rice

Jews love Chinese food, I’m not sure why but my family has been ordering Chinese delivery since I can remember. Often times however I find it too greasy and I feel sick as soon as I’m done eating it.  Cooking any kind of Asian cuisine at home can be scary but I’ve found a way to satisfy my craving.  On a few occasions I have made fried rice using different vegetables and proteins so feel free to find your own!  Of course using brown rice isn’t typical Chinese style fried rice but it makes it a bit healthier and you really can’t tell the difference.

Disclaimer: I know nothing about cooking Chinese or Asian cuisine but this is a great recipe for the casual cook who likes to have fun and try new things!

   

Ingredients

  • Boneless chicken breasts cut into bite sized pieces with salt & pepper  (can replace with shrimp, beef, or leave out the meat and rely on the egg for protein!)
  • Shiitake and/or crimini mushrooms
  • Zucchini
  • Onion
  • 1-2 Garlic Cloves
  • 1 Egg
  • Celery or Bok Choy
  • Pea pods
  • Soy sauce
  • Brown rice, cooked
  • Chinese seasoning  (I found the one shown above at Home Goods – “Spicy Stir Fry”)
  • Sesame oil (teaspoon at most)
  • Sesame seeds

Instructions

  1. Heat up sesame oil in a wok if you have one.
  2. Add onion, celery and saute until soft, then add chicken and garlic and soy sauce and stir-fry for 5 to 6 minutes.
  3. Stir in zucchini, mushrooms, pea pods, Chinese seasoning and stir-fry another 5 or so minutes. Then add rice and stir thoroughly.
  4. Finally, stir in scrambled eggs and 1/3 cup soy sauce, heat through and serve hot.
Leave a Reply

